Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

  • 2018 University Day Award Winners

Departmental Undergraduate Awards

Below is a list of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate scholarships and awards that were awarded at University Awards Day, April 19, 2018.

Applications for Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate scholarships and awards are taken once a year. The availability of scholarships and awards can vary from year to year.  Normally the call is sent out to all undergraduate students via blackboard and is posted on our website in February or March.  The call indicates what scholarships and awards students can apply for the upcoming year, the requirements, and the due date.  Recipients are announced and recognized at the annual University Awards Day in April.



ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry
  • Anna Chen
ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry Undergraduate Chemistry Award
  • Austin Lourie
ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award
  • Emily Hattaway
Analytical Chemistry Award of the American Chemical Society
  • Madison Hoover
ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry
  • Deanna Keen
Betty R. Fundenberg Undergraduate Biomedical Research Award (2 Funded at $500)
  • Deanna Keen
  • Christina Thomas
Hiram and Lawanda Allen Award for Excellence in Chemistry ($500)
  • Ayi Eta
Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence
  • Edgar Luat
South Carolina Section of the American Chemical Society Outstanding Undergraduate
  • Courtney Patterson
The Max G. Gergel Award (4 Funded @ $750)
  • Anjali Amalean
  • Allison Burrell
  • Heidi Carpenter
  • Juliet Joseph


Hiram and Lawanda Allen Scholarship for Excellence in Chemistry (full scholarship)
  • Rebekah Parris
Joseph W. and Julia L. Bouknight Scholarship ($5,000)
  • Adam Rollins
  • Alyssa Stephens
Tommy L. & Fred E. Hickman, III Scholarship ($2,500)
  • Alejandro Diaz
Victor W. Laurie Junior Year Scholarship ($2,500)
  • Anna Bagnell
Victor W. Laurie Senior Year Scholarship ($2,500)
  • Anna Cook

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.